Thank You, Moms, for Understanding

momreality

 This is mom reality. There is nothing sacred. No time that is just mine. There are these precious little things that follow me wherever I go that want to be a part of every moment of my life. Nothing could take away their constant enthusiasm to be ever present in even my mundane activities of daily living. They want to witness every breath and be in arms reach with every movement. Although it drives me crazy at times, I can’t help but be thankful for the little stinkers that just love me so much.

These are mommy secrets. These facts of life that only we get to complain/be thankful about. Only mommies can understand why there are puzzle pieces in the bathroom and why there are garlands of toilet paper used as playroom decor. Only mommies know what a beautiful mess mommy reality can be. This is mom reality. Thank you, moms, for understanding.

Yes, she’s wearing a shower cap. Yes, that’s really the wallpaper I live with.

Jenerally Informed
19 thoughts on “Thank You, Moms, for Understanding

  1. My kids are finally getting old enough that they are finally leaving me alone in the bathroom…most of the time. The days of constant company are not that far behind me though. I remember once, one of my kids brought me a waffle on a plate and asked me to pour his syrup!!

    Like

  2. Oh this is so beautifully written. It is like a wonderful, harried, sometimes messy secret club only we Moms know about. I do think though that you should market that shower cap to other toddlers 🙂 Mine would want one.

    Like

  3. Welcome to SDG! I’m grateful that you joined our community this week. I remember the days of never being alone. And even though my kids are in school now, when they are home, they still seem to need me right when I was grabbing some sacred space. But, they make the space sacred in a different way, too!

    Like

  4. Heehee, even the dog comes in. This is really beautifully written, I agree with Jen. As much as sometimes I long for the “me” time, there’s a part of me that knows some day in the near future I’m going to miss elements of this. Thanks so much for linking up with us, Alli!

    Like

  5. I love the shower cap and I don’t mind the wall paper. This is truly a joy filled life. I sometimes try and hide in the toilet but alas they always find me 🙂 what a joy. Thanks for sharing this at Good Morning Mondays. Blessings

    Like

  6. I love this! Having never been a mommy, I appreciate it all the more for I missed this precious time. I teach young children and have for many years. I love them dearly and am glad to be included in the mommy-world through posts such as this! I will think about your daughter with the shower cap on for awhile!!
    Caring through Christ, ~ linda

    Like

  7. Stopping by from Grace and Truth this week. I have to chuckle at the dog being involved, too. When we play hide-n-seek at our house, our dog always gives away our hiding spots. I miss those years of the littles already (our youngest two are nearly six now), but I am glad for bathroom privacy…at least most of the time. 😉 Thanks for sharing with us!
    Jen @ Being Confident of This

    Like

Thank you for reading. I'd love to hear your thoughts!

