Why We Iced Frozen

Let me start by suggesting any Disney movie ban would be fairly easy to justify. This post will focus on Frozen, the highest-grossing animated picture ever. When I watched Frozen for the first time I was appalled mostly by how lame the plot was. My 3-year-old flat out said, “I don’t like this movie” and that made me happy. I was bored. I will not waste any space in this post with detailing the inconsistencies or even my own opinion.

*Post edited 1/12/14: I previously linked to a video commentary on the movie that was not received well by viewers. I apologize to those of you who found it offensive.*

Yet again, Disney displays a terrible portrayal of parenthood. Elsa has a problem, her parents lock her up in her bedroom and hide her from the world. Out of their fear they isolate their children and shut off all communication with the kingdom and people they are supposed to lead. And then they die. Never mind the fact the same kingdom later accepts Elsa’s rule without question even though she’s been locked in the castle since she was a girl.

The two protagonists, Disney princesses girls constantly emulate, are awful. Anna is boy-crazed, ditsy, gullible, and ignorant. Elsa is devastatingly self-centered, weak and cold, pun intended. Several critics have condemned Elsa’s character for promoting a lesbian agenda, but I perceived no obvious sexualization. Elsa never has any attraction to women, nor does she have any disdain towards males. She is simply and profoundly pro-self. There was, however, the easily-overlooked (and completely unnecessary) promotion of homosexual males in the scene with “Wandering Oaken’s Trading Post and Sauna.” The store owner turns to say “Hello, family!” with a large dude and a bunch of kids waving back from inside the sauna. Why was this in a child’s film? It didn’t support the story line whatsoever. Perhaps flashing images of homosexual families will help our children realize that not only is it normal, but also supported by our Disney heroes and parents who push the play button.

Alright, now this is the point where I get real serious. “Let it Go” is such a catchy tune I myself have had difficulty getting it out of my head. I am cautious to not let it out of my mouth. These are not words I want my children to repeat. Let me highlight some of the exact words from the song: “don’t let them in, don’t let them see”, “conceal, don’t feel”, “let it go”, “turn away and slam the door”, “let the storm rage”, “no rules for me, I’m free”, “one with the wind and sky”, “that perfect girl is gone.” No. This is not a lesson I want my children to learn. I will not promote rebellion, isolation, suppression, denial, ignorance, and weakness. I will not allow these words to easily become a part of my children’s vocabulary. I will not allow the spirit behind them to enter into their world.

Let me explain a little further. When I hear “one with the wind and sky” Ephesians 2 floods my mind:

As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins, in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient.All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our flesh[a] and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature deserving of wrath. But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved.

Satan is the ruler of the air, the ruler of the earth- until Jesus returns and crushes him. I do not want my children to so easily repeat those lyrics. I do not want to so ignorantly allow the devil to tip toe into my home. I will not allow the indoctrination of seemingly innocent words to take up space in my child’s brain. I will instead teach my children to “…take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ” (2 Corinthians 10:5). It is my blessed responsibility as a mother to  ensure that I “Let no one deceive with empty words, for because of such things God’s wrath comes on those who are disobedient” (Ephesians 5:6). I will not say, “It’s no big deal.” I am responsible for the “training up of my children” (Proverbs 22:6), and I refuse to take that job lightly or make allowances for popular culture or ease of “fitting in,” because the truth is “this world is not my home” (Hebrews 13:14). I will “not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of [my] mind. Then [I] will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will” (Romans 12:2).

But wait, there’s more! The entire theme of the movie is Elsa’s journey of self-discovery and enlightenment, her growth in consciousness and love, toward self-realization. She discovers beauty in her mysticism and freedom in following her true will. Hold up. (This is where I get weird. Enter category “Conspiracy Theory”).

Even if you’re not familiar with the Ordo Templi Orientis, I’m sure you have heard of the Illuminati. The mantra, or slogan, so publicly displayed by their members is “Do what thou wilt.” This was was taken out of The Book of The Law, the sacred text of Thelema. This text emphasizes individualism, and the uniqueness of each person’s will. The Author called himself Aiwass, and claimed to be “the minister of Hoor-paar-kraat”; that is, a messenger from the forces ruling this earth at presentThe statement indicates that adherents should seek out and follow their own true path in life, (“no rules for me, I’m free”) known as their true will. The philosophy also emphasizes the ritual practice of Magick In order for the individual to be able to follow their True Will, the everyday self’s socially-instilled inhibitions may have to be overcome via deconditioning (“turn away and slam the door”), that in order to discover the True Will, one had to free the desires of the subconscious mind from the control of the conscious mind (“let it go”), especially the restrictions placed on sexual expression

This is their symbol:

75px-Crowley_unicursal_hexagram.svg

Still with me? Good. Let’s go deeper. In order to historically situate the revelation of The Book of the Law, there is a proposed progression of three Aeons. The third Aeon is referred to as the Aeon of Horus, (what millions of others refer to simply as the New Age) when the dominant formula is that of growth, in consciousness and love, toward self-realization (remember the theme we discussed 2 chapters up?). Not surprisingly, Horus was considered god of the sky. The Eye of Horus is the root of the symbol for the Illuminati, the All-Seeing Eye. Freaky, right?

The devil has found a wonderful foothold in the entertainment industry. He has made a cozy, quiet home in the cute and cuddly world of child animation. He has been at work for a very long time and has learned that the best way to deceive is also the easiest. He finds us where we’re lazy. He finds us where we choose not to look. He reaches us where we decide to be ignorant out of our compulsion to conform.

“Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in the Spirit and in truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks. 24 God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in the Spirit and in truth.” – John 4:23-24

I encourage you to take your every thought captive. Be always on alert of the spirit you welcome in your home. Pray for wisdom and truth. Seek the Lord earnestly and do not fall victim to the gentle persuasions of the snake, the most cunning of all creatures.

Please take a look at the following video discussing the intentions of dual symbology and dark, secret agendas. The entire “Know Your Enemy” series is phenomenal and comprehensive.

Shared with: The Missional Weekend, Satisfaction Through Christ, Make Your Home Sing Monday, Good Morning Mondays, The Art of Homemaking Mondays, Mom’s Morning Coffee, Wedded Wednesday, Faith Filled Friday, Christian Mommy Blogger,  Still Saturday, Counting My Blessings, Weekend Wind-Down Link Party, Link Party Palooza, Spiritual Sundays, Raising Homemakers, TGIT Link Party

100 thoughts on “Why We Iced Frozen

  1. Such an interesting read, Alli! I have long said that Disney, and many other things marketed toward our children, have an ‘agenda.’ It can be so hard and frustrating to take a stand against something so popular, but all we can do is follow God’s Word and pray for His continual guidance.

    Like

  2. Hello Alli, This was interesting… I think it just confirms the reason we don’t go to the movies *ever* and haven’t bought into any of the Disney animated movies for our children. Thanks for sharing this week on the Art of Home-Making Mondays!

    Like

  3. Thanks for sharing this. It’s a hot topic, as so many are deluded into thinking it’s a sweet story of two sisters learning to love one another. Yes, it is, but…..it’s way more than that! My daughter-in-law loves it and my poor granddaughters watch it constantly. I’m sad that they don’t see the lies in it, but I’ll pray for God to reveal Truth to them.

    Like

    • It definitely gets heated! Thank you for reading 🙂 It’s a very touchy conversation, especially for an in-law situation! Hopefully she’ll come across this post or a similar message and feel it touch her heart.

      Like

  4. When I watch this movie I don’t see ANY of the stuff you see. I see a movie that was created during a time of weekly suicides in young kids and teens because of being bullied and I see the story saying “it is okay if you are different, what they have to say about you isn’t worth it, just LET It GO” I guess we all see things differently but that was the message I got.
    I am familiar with the OTO and many of the things you talk about. I honestly think this is you not liking the movie and needing to find reasons to justify it.
    If you and your toddler only watched it once how did you come up with all of these symbols? Why let it infiltrate your brain? Why give it more publicity here on your blog when your readers are likely going to watch it again to see if they notice the things you pointed out?
    I won’t even start in about the “gay” thing because if you want to avoid exposing your child to that then you will need to make sure they never hit puberty or go out in public because gay is everywhere. Even the rainbow is the color of the pride flag.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I openly admitted not enjoying the movie and then proceeded to validate those reasons. Also, I don’t think it’s possible to dislike something without reasons to justify the opinion. As you continue to watch maybe you’ll be able to “see” more clearly the objections I pointed out.
      In preparation for this post I watched the main scenes of the movie while taking notes. As the film “infiltrated” my brain, my convictions grew much stronger, and I knew I’d made the right decision. As an adult, I understand that I am only responsible for my own actions. Whether or not my readers watch the movie again is irrelevant. I can only hope that if they do view it again, they’ll have a new perspective.
      As a parent, my responsibility to my children is not about “avoiding” exposure to the world, rather controlling that exposure when it is in my power.
      And you’re right, “gay” is everywhere. It is even, as you said, a culture that has stolen a beautiful symbol of God’s promise and perverted it.

      Like

      • I totally agree Alli. I would also like to point out that while we as parents can’t and aren’t avoiding exposure to the world, we certainly aren’t going to condone these types of movies or “activities” in our homes or to our children. Proverbs 22:5. Thorns and snares are in the way of the perverse; He who guards himself will be far from them. 6. Train up a child in the way he should go, Even when he is old he will not depart from it.

        Like

  5. there were things about frozen that i didn’t like but at the same time i didn’t know how to voice or to explain the negative feelings. thanks for sharing.

    Like

  6. Wow, and I didn’t like it because it was over played and had NO PLOT you’re right (as an actor/writer it kind of bugged me). I am not saying you have “opened my eyes to a new world” (no Disney pun intended) but I am seeing things differently and glad that I clicked on this post.

    Like

  7. Are you kidding me??? You people are delusional. I am so sick of hearing idiot Christians attack everything under the sun for not being godly. You feel soooo bad for all of the poor souls who don’t see the world exactly as your cult does. I am starting to see that this ideology is the real enemy in our society. Religion has been the cause of most of the killing and atrocities in human history. Get a life.

    Like

  8. Thank you for posting this. I am the only mom I know personally who does not allow Disney in the home, and it’s great to know I’m not alone. As a child growing up in a pagan home, I arrived at the conclusion (at about age 11), that what my parents permitted, they also endorsed. I still believe this is true.

    I also believe that since we live in a world that is full of problems, it’s important to equip our children to have the answer to those problems, to be world-changers who make the world a better place, and who are not intimidated by those who call us attackers while they attack the decisions we make for our family.

    Like

    • Hope, you are in the right place, and I’m so glad you’re here! My entire goal for this blog is to encourage discernment and wisdom even in the monotony. Thank you for taking the time to read and leave such an encouraging comment. You are most definitely not alone. Keep listening to that still, small voice.

      Like

Thank you for reading. I'd love to hear your thoughts!

